Renewed Faith in the Land of Liberty!!

I got  to admit that I am one of those evil cynical people who have refused to say the Pledge of Allegiance. Who never really care about independence day.  But in my defense, I am also the kind of person who can’t stand  Bullshit hypocrisy. I guess I never thought that our country really believed that we are all created equal.  After all, I have dealt with being only one of three black students at a school and dealt with ignorant teachers.  I have gone to college where students were so uncomfortable with blacks students that Nigger was written on the sidewalk and on a classroom board. A college town where a student was beat up on his way to his girlfriend’s house because he looked gay. I have been spit on by a white boyfriend’s little brother . I’ve dealt with weird stares and unhappy parents because I have dated white men. And much more…

So,  often I have not felt too happy to be an American. Cause sometimes it’s hard to feel like America even wants you if you look like me.

But today… Though I swear I never voted for Our President elect because he is black. I voted for him because his policies fit my views. Still, today I felt like an American not an African American.

Today, I see that the majority of us know that Race is the biggest BS.  Skin color doesn’t make us different.. we are all Americans, we are All humans beings. And we know we must take care of our nation and each other.  I hope people heard  Obama when he said ” I will be your president,” to those who didn’t vote for him. I hope that  we’ll stop being black, white & brown America or red or blue and be the * United* States

Today, I understand  the meaning of being patriotic. Maybe now I can hold my hand to my heart to  say the pledge or sing our anthemn. Maybe now I can believe this is a place of freedom and liberty for all.

2 thoughts on “Renewed Faith in the Land of Liberty!!

  1. gracemauzy says:

    This really touched my heart. Yes people did not vote for Obama because of his skin color. But wasn’t it nice that he broke the mold.

    Its tragic that you have suffered so much because of bigotry. I hope our new president will truly be able to eradicate bigotry, and all Americans can hold their hands to their hearts with love and pride for the Untied States of America.

  2. Mama Kelly says:

    I too was proud on election day. Hubby and I woke the children up when it was obvious they were going to announce the winner and I cried a little.

    May he bring the change he hopes to. May our nation be healed.

    Blessings!

    Mama Kelly
    2 Witches

    PS our site has moved to 2witches.com/blog

Leave a Reply

