Active Meditation…

nano_08_winner_large

I just finished a novel writing contest on the 1st. That’s mainly the reason why I hadn’t much time for blogging. I still have not recovered for the sore  wrist and fingers from having to write a novel in a month.

But I wanted to write a quick post raving about the benefits of writing and similar hobbies. Writing is really meditation in motion. When I was writing I was not able to think about other things. Even if I was stressing about a line or scene at the very least my mind was only on the page.

Sure, there were moments when I drifted off but then I would have to stop writing. I could not do both a the same time. It was a honesty check…If Iwasn’t in the moment ( or in the story) it was obvious. I had to let go of the other thoughts and return to the page.

This is also true of other hobbies I have like working in gimp ( like photoshop). When I am working on some small design detail everything else in the world disappears.

So, I suggest If you don’t already have one.. Find an interest that feels like active meditation to you.

One thought on “Active Meditation…

  1. Robert Rowe says:

    I love this post! The idea that meditation doesn’t always have to be sitting, legs folded, eyes closed, in silence. If you’re focusing your thoughts on one thing, regardless of what it is, you’re meditating in a sense.

Leave a Reply

